The Caldecott Tunnel Fourth Bore Coalition, Inc. (FBC) is a grass roots environmental organization formed in 2005 by several neighborhood and civic groups in response to Caltrans’ plans to add a fourth bore to the Caldecott Tunnel on State Highway 24, through the Oakland and Berkeley hills between Contra Costa and Alameda Counties.

We organized to review, comment, and otherwise participate in the Caldecott Improvement Project (CIP), including the environmental impact process. Our goals are to ensure the project conforms to environmental laws and to ensure that it, or any similar improvement, is one that is the least harmful alternative, with appropriate mitigations and improvements that are socially, economically, and environmentally beneficial for the local, regional, and global community.

The Coalition is run by a volunteer board of directors and powered by dedicated volunteers from our founding groups – Claremont Elmwood Neighborhood Association (CENA), East Bay Bicycle Coalition (EBBC), Friends of Rockridge-Temescal Greenbelt (FROG), North Hills Phoenix Association (NHPA), Parkwoods Community Association, and Rockridge Community Planning Council (RCPC).

2013-14 FBC board members: Ann Smulka (chair), Ronnie Spitzer (vice chair), Matt Ayers (secretary), Howard Matis (treasurer), Carol Behr, Laurie Bernardi, Dave Campbell, Jo Cazenave, Stu Flashman, Aileen Frankel, David Kessler, Dean Metzger, Theresa Nelson, Greg Pasquali, Penny Sinder, Barney Smits

The Coalition is a 501(c)3 charitable organization.